Brewton-Parker College: A Private Christian/Baptist College located in Southeast Georgia Brewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & Information

Home / News and Information /

BPC students, faculty lauded with honors at Honors Chapel

Dean Sherrie Helms and Kolby DePratter
Kolby DePratter, a sophomore, left, is presented the Leadership in Student Affairs Award from Sherrie Helms, dean of students.

By Kayla Oliver

Marketing Staff Writer

MOUNT VERNON—It’s not every day that one receives credit for hard work or a job well done, and for a few Brewton-Parker College students and faculty members, Honors Day ceremony 2008 was their day in the sun. The ceremony was held April 29 in Saliba Chapel on the Mount Vernon campus.

Dr. Ron Melton, left, Dr. Lee Cheek
Dr. H. Lee Cheek Jr., right, is presented the Jordan Teaching Excellence Award by Dr. Ron Melton, provost, left.

The largest group of recipients at this year’s ceremony was the Dean’s Scholars. These students were named to the Dean’s List for five of the last seven semesters. Those receiving the title of Dean’s Scholar were Delia Blackman, Latoya C. Cannon, Julie Ann Couch, Steven J. Dresen, Stephanie L. Herlocker, Paul E. Lanning, Katie D. Lee, Dalene Kay Moltmaker, Bethany New, Emily D. Oliver, Courtney N. Payne, Leslie M. Seabury, Margo L. Smith, Heather Marie Turner and Alicia C. Wood.

The Conrad-Shelby Academic Achievement Award was presented by Dr. Ron Melton, provost, to Joshua Eric Harrison and Kari Weissinger for maintaining a 4.0 grade point average.

The Athletic Award was presented to Jenna Kessenich by BPC Athletic Director Sheila Simmons.

Jenna Kessenich was presented the Business Award by Dr. Dean Williamson.

Dr. Don Wallace presented the Communications Award to Dereck Johnson.

Prof. Vance Rhoades, left, Angel Howell
Prof. Vance Rhoades presents the Pi Gamma Mu Award to senior, Angel Howell.

The Sigma Tau Delta English Language Award was presented to Carly Colombero by Dr. Ruth Ellen Porter. Jeffrey Jackson received the Film Studies Award, a new recognition, from Prof. Gareth Jones.

Marissa McGhee received the Foreign Language Award from Prof. James Bell.

Dr. Mary Waalkes presented the History Award to Courtney Payne. Dr. Lee Cheek presented Emily Oliver the Richard B. Russell Award from the General Richard Montgomery Chapter of the Daughters of Revolutionary Colonists.

Julie Couch received the Human Services Award.

Dr. Winnifred Whittaker presented the International Student Award to Gerard Harewood.

Sherrie Helms, Dean of Students at BPC, presented two awards for leadership; one in Student Affairs and the other for student service to the college. The Leadership in Student Affairs Award was presented to Kolby DePratter. Bernard Irvin received the Leadership in Student Service to the College Award.

April Hartzog was presented the Math Award by Prof. Forrest Rich.

Dr. Glenn Eernisse presented the Music Award to Glenda Moye.

Bethany New was honored with the Outstanding Future Teacher Award

Dr. Jon Shuman, left, Brittany Euler
Dr. Jon Shuman presents the Science Award to Brittany Euler, a senior.

Corrine Bird was recognized for Outstanding Performance in Glimpses of Truth by Prof. Don Wallace.

The Pi Gamma Mu Award was presented by Prof. Vance Rhoades to Angel Howell.

Kari Weissinger received the Political Science Award from Dr. Lee Cheek.

Dr. Rolando Tiu presented the Psychology Award to Nikki Moore.

Three awards for religious studies were presented by Dr. Hal Ostrander. Edward Cole Morris received the Religious Leadership Award; Tim Hegerich and Joannie Morgan received the Religious Service Award; and, Steven Dresen was presented the Outstanding Ministry/Christianity Student Award.

Dr. Jon Shuman presented the Science Award to Danielle Lee and Brittany Euler.

The Brewton-Parker College Student Government Association presented two awards honoring a member of the faculty and an academic division within the college. SGA president Cody Henderson presented Prof. Vance Rhodes with the Outstanding Teacher Award, and the Outstanding College Division Award was presented to the Department of Fiscal Affairs.

Allen Thigpen, representing the Mount Vernon Bank, presented the Mount Vernon Bank Writing Fellowship Award to Paul Lanning. The fellowship includes a $1,000 cash prize.

The final award of the ceremony, the Jordan Teaching Excellence Award, was presented by Dr. Ron Melton to Dr. Lee Cheek.

Outstanding Teacher Award
SGA president Cody Henderson presents the Outstanding Teacher Award BPC 2007-2008 to Prof. Vance Rhodes.
International Student Award

The International Student Award was presented to Gerard Harewood, right, by Dr. Winnifred Whittaker.

Dean Sherrie Helms, left, Bernard Irvin
Bernard Irvin is presented the Leadership in Student Service to the College Award from Dean Sherrie Helms.
Prof. Forrest Rich, left, April Hartzog
Prof. Forrest Rich presents the Math Award to April Hartzog.
Sheila Simmons, left, Jenna Kessenich
The Athletic Award was presented to senior Jenna Kessenich by Athletic Director Sheila Simmons.
Dr. Don Wallace, left, Dereck Johnson
Dr. Don Wallace presents the communication award to senior, Dereck Johnson.
Dr. Ron Melton, left, Emily Oliver
Senior Emily Oliver is presented an award by Dr. Ron Melton: the Richard B. Russell Award from the General Richard Montgomery Chapter of the Daughters of Revolutionary Colonists.
Dr. Ron Melton, left, Joshua Harrison
Dr. Ron Melton, provost, presents Joshua Harrison with the Conrad-Shelby Academic Achievement Award for maintaining the highest GPA in his class, a 4.0. He shares this recognition with Kari Weissinger. Both maintained a perfect 4.0.




Brewton-Parker College News & Information
Brewton-Parker College | Located on U.S. 280 at 201 David-Eliza Fountain Circle, P. O. Box 197, Mount Vernon, GA 30445
with a site in Newnan
912-583-2241, 1-800-342-1087
Get directions to the main campus.
Contact Technology Services if you have any comments, questions or issues.

The mission of Brewton-Parker College, a Georgia Baptist college, is to develop the whole student through the application of Biblically-centered truth to a liberal arts curriculum in a community of shared Christian values.
Brewton-Parker College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Brewton-Parker College.
Updated on: April 15, 2010 8:26 PM