Brewton-Parker College: A Private Christian/Baptist College located in Southeast Georgia Brewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & Information

Home / News and Information /

BPC Trustees elect 2007 officers,

commend Divisions of Arts and Letters, Education

Dr. Don Hattaway and Dr. David R. Smith
Dr. David R. Smith, president of Brewton-Parker College, presents Dr. Don Hattaway, 2005-2006 BPC Board of Trustees Chairperson, with a gift honoring his service and leadership. Dr. Hattaway served the allowed two years as chairperson. He will continue to serve on the board until his five-year term expires in 2008. (Photo by Kelley M. Arnold)

By Kelley M. Arnold

BPC Director of News                          and Public Information

MOUNT VERNON—Brewton-Parker College’s Board of Trustees announced the election of the 2007 officers during the board’s October meeting on the Mount Vernon campus Oct. 19.

The officers for 2007 are Gary Campbell of Vidalia, chairperson; Dr. Nancy Stanley of Vidalia, vice-chairperson; Vira Garnto of Valdosta, secretary; and, Fred Gilder of Glenwood, assistant secretary.

In other business, the board approved several resolutions that included a commendation to the Division of Arts and Letters for their work to advance the college’s literary expression and education with the formation of the BPC Film Writer’s Society and the organization and presentation of February’s Young Writer’s Conference, Creative Expressions Night and Medieval Dinner Celebration. The Division has also joined the Georgia Philological Society, which will provide BPC students the opportunity to interact with students on other campuses throughout the state.

The board also approved a resolution to commend the Division of Education, Administration, Faculty and Staff on last month’s NCATE/PSC Accreditation Project.

“Our folks have put forth tremendous effort in getting ready for this (accreditation review),” said Trustee Dr. Allen Hughes, chair of the academic and student program committee.

Dr. David R. Smith, president of Brewton-Parker College, also recognized the service of four trustees whose terms of office have been completed. The outgoing board members are: Billy Gibson of St. Simons Island, Colon Sammons of Mount Vernon, Wayne Akins of Statesboro, and Melanie Stokes of Ludowici. Each was presented plaques in honor of his or her service. Dr. Smith also presented 2005-2006 Board Chairperson Dr. Don Hattaway of Kingston with a decorative clock in honor of his leadership and service to the college. He will continue to serve on the board until 2008.



Brewton-Parker College News & Information
Brewton-Parker College | Located on U.S. 280 at 201 David-Eliza Fountain Circle, P. O. Box 197, Mount Vernon, GA 30445
with a site in Newnan
912-583-2241, 1-800-342-1087
Get directions to the main campus.
Contact Technology Services if you have any comments, questions or issues.

The mission of Brewton-Parker College, a Georgia Baptist college, is to develop the whole student through the application of Biblically-centered truth to a liberal arts curriculum in a community of shared Christian values.
Brewton-Parker College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Brewton-Parker College.
Updated on: April 15, 2010 8:26 PM