Brewton-Parker College: A Private Christian/Baptist College located in Southeast Georgia Brewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & InformationBrewton-Parker College News & Information


BPC lauds students, faculty at Honors Chapel

Honors VSmith
Dr. T. Ronald Melton presents Vivian Suzanne Smith of Jesup with the Conrad-Shelby Award for Academic Achievement.


By Kelley Arnold

Director of News & Public Information

MOUNT VERNON—Brewton-Parker College’s last chapel service of the year was dedicated to recognizing several BPC students on a “job well done”. The Honor’s Day ceremony was held May 3 in Saliba Chapel on the Mount Vernon campus.

The largest group of recipients at this year’s ceremony was the Dean’s Scholars. These students were named to the Dean’s List for five of the last seven semesters. Those receiving the title of Dean’s Scholar were Margaret Heather Chastain, Luis Gonzalez, Joseph Michael Jones, Jennifer Rene’e Sears, Vivian Suzanne Smith, Laura Warhola and Suzette Williams.

Honor Brown
Marissa Brown of Vidalia receives the Champion of Character SSAC/NAIA Athletic Award for a Female Student-Athlete from Athletic Director Sheila Simmons.


The Conrad-Shelby Academic Achievement Award was presented by Dr. Ron Melton, provost, to two students with the highest grade point average. With a GPA of a perfect 4.0, these students tied for the award: Laura Lynn Warhola and Vivian Suzanne Smith.

Honor Harewood

Gerard Harewood of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, receives the Athletic Award to a Male Student Athlete from Athletic Director Sheila Simmons.


The Athletic Award for highest academic achievement for female student-athlete was presented to Leighann Newberry by BPC Athletic Director Sheila Simmons. Simmons presented the Athletic Award for a male student-athlete to Gerard Harewood.

Harewood was also presented the Business Award in Information Systems by Prof. David Kight.

Honor Helmy

Hakeem Helmy of Vidalia receives the Human Services Award from Dr. Susan Kinsella.


Simmons presented two Champion of Character SSAC/NAIA Athletic awards to one male and one female student-athlete. They are Marissa Brown and Ross Jenkins.

Dr. Don Wallace presented the Communications Award to Reese Simmons.

The Sigma Tau Delta English Language Award was presented to Carolyn Doyle by Dr. Ruth Ellen Porter. Michael Baskin received the Film Studies Award from Prof. Gareth Jones.

Honor Gonzalez
Luis Gonzalez of Helena receives the Outstanding Ministry/Christian Studies Student Award from Dr. Hal Ostrander.
Honor Johnson

Gladys Rose Shuman, Regent for the Richard Montgomery Chapter of the Daughters of American Colonists, presents the Richard B. Russell Award to Joshua Johnson of Mount Vernon. Johnson also received the History Award from Dr. Ian Crowe.

Marla Hollis and Racheal Tharp both received the Foreign Language Award from Dr. Bill Denni.

Dr. Ian Crowe presented the History Award to Joshua Johnson. Johnson was also presented the Richard B. Russell Award on behalf of the General Richard Montgomery Chapter of the Daughters of Revolutionary Colonists by Dr. Mary Waalkes and Gladys Rose Shuman, Regent for the Richard Montgomery Chapter of the Daughters of American Colonists.

Hakeem Helmy received the Human Services Award from Dr. Susan Kinsella.

Honor Ring

Sarah Ring of Claxton receives a special award from the Division of Religion and Philosophy during Honor’s Chapel. Dr. Hal Ostrander presents Ring with the Acts 1:8 Award.


Prof. Zeke Addison presented the International Student Award to Gerard Harewood.

Sherrie Helms, Dean of Students at BPC, presented two awards for leadership; one in Student Affairs and the other for student service to the college. The Leadership in Student Affairs Award was presented to Jonathan D. Brown and Cricket Morris. E’Quain Rhodes and Jacob Lane each received the Leadership in Student Service to the College Award.

Honor Dave

Anand Dave of Gujarat, India, receives the Science Award from Dr. Jon Shuman.


Vivian Suzanne Smith was honored with the Outstanding Future Teacher Award by Dr. David Moffett.

Luis Gonzalez was recognized for Outstanding Ministry/Christian Studies Student by Dr. Hal Ostrander.

The Pi Gamma Mu Award was presented by Prof. Vance Rhoades to Hakeem Helmy.

Honor Audirsch

Dr. Jeff Audirsch, who joined the college at the beginning of this academic year, received the Student Government Association’s award for the 2010-2011 Outstanding Teacher.


Joshua McPhatter received the Political Science Award from Dr. Rolando Tiu.

Dr. Tiu also presented the Psychology Award to Gady Youmans.

Dr. Ostrander presented the Religious Service Award to Chris Lynn, the Religious Leadership Award to Andrew Tucker, and the Acts 1:8 Award, a special award from the Division of Religion & Philosophy to Sarah Ring.

Honor SBS

The Social and Behavioral Sciences Division received the SGA 2010-2011 Outstanding College Award for the third year in a row. Accepting for the Division is Dr. Rolando Tiu, right. Joshua McPhatter, 2010-2011 SGA President, presented the award.


Dr. Jon Shuman presented the Science Award to Anand Dave.

The Sociology Award was presented by Dr. Harry Vogel to Ashley Wooten.

The Brewton-Parker College Student Government Association presented two awards honoring a member of the faculty and an academic division within the college. SGA president Joshua McPhatter presented Prof. Jeff Audirsch with the 2010-2011 Outstanding Teacher Award, and the Outstanding College Division Award was presented to the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, for the third year in a row.

Honor Addison
Prof. Zeke Addison receives the Jordan Teaching Excellence Award from Dr. T. Ronald Melton, provost.


Melissa Moore, representing the Mount Vernon Bank, presented the Mount Vernon Bank Writing Fellowship Award to Marla Hollis. The fellowship includes a $1,000 cash prize. The winning essays were written on the topic of “The Economic Interdependency of Brewton-Parker College to the Local Community.”

Chasity Davis on behalf of Dr. Carol O’Dell presented two awards for Assessment Day participation. Jonathan D. Brown and James Whitehead each received $50 Baron Bucks.

The final award of the ceremony, the Jordan Teaching Excellence Award, was presented by Dr. Ron Melton to Prof. Zeke Addison.


Brewton-Parker College News & Information
Brewton-Parker College | Located on U.S. 280 at 201 David-Eliza Fountain Circle, P. O. Box 197, Mount Vernon, GA 30445
with a site in Newnan
912-583-2241, 1-800-342-1087
Get directions to the main campus.
Contact Technology Services if you have any comments, questions or issues.

The mission of Brewton-Parker College, a Georgia Baptist college, is to develop the whole student through the application of Biblically-centered truth to a liberal arts curriculum in a community of shared Christian values.
Brewton-Parker College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Brewton-Parker College.
Updated on: May 11, 2011 11:28 AM