Baron Singers to perform 'Christmas Celebration' on Friday

MOUNT VERNON - The Baron Singers of Brewton-Parker College will be performing their "Christmas Celebration" concert Friday on the BPC campus, director Glenn Eernisse has announced.

The free concert begins at 8 p.m. in Saliba Chapel.

The Baron Singers is an auditioned student ensemble consisting of 10 singers and an instrumental combination well known for its high-energy performances under the direction of Eernisse, an associate professor of music.

The Baron Singers will open the performance in costume for "'Twas the Night before Christmas," followed by selections including "Baby, It's Cold Outside", "Frosty the Snowman", "Merry Christmas, Darling", "Joy" from the movie "The Preacher's Wife", "Go, Tell It on the Mountain" and a disco version of "Jingle Bells."

"This is the type of program that should be fun for all ages," Eernisse said.

Vocalists in the Baron Singers are: Jeffrey Brazell, Jeremy Curtis, Steven Dawson, Brandi Harvey, Kimberly Nobles, Heather LeCompte, Jordan Romans, Renia Sweat and John Wolters.

Baron Singers band members are: Chris Acree, Philip Elder, Chris Elkins, Neal Giedd, Brandon Herrington, Josh Hitchcock and Danny Steis.
In their earlier years, the Baron Singers were identified with folk music but have evolved into a very versatile performing ensemble, including styles from gospel and spirituals to jazz, pop and rock music from the past and present.

In addition to performances on campus and at area events, the Baron Singers take an annual tour during the spring semester.

Inquiries concerning the concert or the Baron Singers may be directed to Theresa Solano in the BPC music division at 583-3136.

Members of the Brewton-Parker College Baron Singers are: (seated from let) Jeremy Curtis, Jeffrey Brazell, John Wolters, Steven Dawson, Brandi Harvey, Renia Sweat, Heather LeCompte, Jordan Romans and Kimberly Nobles. Baron Singers Band members are: (standing from left) Chris Acree, Philip Elder, Chris Elkins, Neal Giedd, Director Dr. Glenn Eernisse, Danny Steis, Josh Hitchcock and Brandon Herrington.