Public school representatives join BPC faculty, students for Advisory Council luncheon

MOUNT VERNON -- Seven area public school representatives joined Brewton-Parker College faculty and students in December for the education division's Advisory Council meeting in the Holliman-Fountain Education Building on the BPC campus.
Council Chair Dr. Melba S. Claxton, professor of education and early childhood education coordinator at Brewton-Parker, conducted the meeting that included a luncheon.
Dr. Laurie Jossey, chair of the education division, and Dr. Bowman Barr, director of student teaching made presentations to the fall-semester student teachers, who were invited as special guests.
The Advisory Council meets once each semester, through which the education division seeks input from public schools in which its students are placed for field experiences. Advisory seminars foster collegiality among professors, pre-service teachers, and public school educators.
Council membership includes public school administrators and in-service teachers from the following school systems: Colquitt County, Liberty County, Vidalia City, Treutlen County, TAPS (Alternative School in Wheeler County), Tattnall County, Appling County, Montgomery County, Telfair County, Jeff Davis County, Laurens County, Bacon County and Heart of Georgia Technical College in Dublin.
Other council members are selected arts and sciences faculty of Brewton-Parker, a college student representative, and the education division's full-time faculty.
The public school administrators and in-service teachers who participated in the December meeting were: Dr. Larry H. Daniel, superintendent of Laurens County Schools; Ms. Pamela Johnson, Teacher in Appling County School System; Dr. Gregg Maybin, superintendent of Tattnall County Schools; Heather Oliver, teacher in Tattnall County School System; Dr. Lula Mae Perry, superintendent of Jeff Davis County Schools; Dr. Tim Smith, superintendent of Vidalia City Schools; G.J. Williams, director of TAPS (Alternative School in Wheeler County); and Hildegard Stanley, Brewton-Parker professor emeritus of music and an area in-service teacher.
Fall -semester student teachers involved were: Elizabeth Aleshire, Kimberly Arnold, Rasa Herman, Clint Herrington, Rachel Hendrix and Kelli Turner. The council's student representative is Courtney Thompson.
Additional education division members involved in the meeting were: Dr. Kay Lagasse, associate professor of education; Keith Barr, assistant professor of physical education; and Skye Jordan, Pat Mercer and Barbara Reid, assistant professors of education. Participating arts and sciences faculty were: Dr. Ruth Ellen Porter, humanities division chair; and Dr. Kevin McCranie, assistant professor of history.



Members of the Brewton-Parker College education division's Advisory Council gather for their December meeting in the Holliman-Fountain Education Building on the BPC campus. Brewton-Parker faculty and area public school representatives shown are: (seated, from left) Dr. Kay Lagasse; Dr. Tim Smith of Vidalia Public Schools; Skye Jordan; Dr. Ruth Ellen Porter; Mrs. Heather Oliver of Tattnall County Schools; Barbara Reid; (standing) Pat Mercer and Dr. Kevin McCranie.