Public school representatives join BPC faculty, students for Advisory Council luncheon

MOUNT VERNON -- Seven area public school representatives joined Brewton-Parker College faculty and students for the education division's Advisory Council meeting Dec. 5 in the Briscoe Center on the BPC campus.
Council Chair Dr. Melba S. Claxton, professor of education and early childhood education coordinator at Brewton-Parker, conducted the meeting that included a luncheon.
Dr. Laurie Jossey, chair of the education division, and Barbara Reid, assistant professor of education, middle grades coordinator and director of student teaching, made presentations to the fall-semester student teachers, who were invited as special guests.
Dr. Ron Melton, Brewton-Parker's provost, offered his congratulations and words of encouragement to the graduating education students, who he declared Centennial Educators in honor of the college's 100th anniversary.
The Advisory Council meets once each semester, through which the education division seeks input from public schools in which its students are placed for field experiences. Advisory seminars foster collegiality among professors, pre-service teachers, and public school educators.
Council membership includes public school administrators and in-service teachers from the following school systems: Colquitt County, Liberty County, Vidalia City, Treutlen County, TAPS (Tri-County Alternative School in Wheeler County), Tattnall County, Appling County, Montgomery County, Telfair County, Jeff Davis County, Laurens County, Bacon County and Heart of Georgia Technical College in Dublin.
Other council members are selected arts and sciences faculty of Brewton-Parker, a college student representative, and the education division's full-time faculty.
The public school administrators and in-service teachers who participated in the fall meeting were: Reginald Roberts, director of instruction for Montgomery County Schools; Ronald Dixon, principal of Jeff Davis High School; Dr. Lloyd Horadan, president of Heart of Georgia Technical College; Pam Johnson, National Board certified teacher in the Appling County School system; Heather Oliver, teacher in the Tattnall County School system; Dr. Charlene Robinson, administrator in Colquitt County Schools; and Hildegard Stanley, Brewton-Parker professor emeritus of music and an area in-service teacher.
Fall-semester student teachers, who will be graduated in May and are listed by home campus, involved in the meeting were:
Mount Vernon -- Amanda Beasley, Brandie Bennett, Stacey M. Davis, Jennifer Glass, Angela Howard, Joyce Kennedy, Will Maybin, Kelli Merritt, Whittney Fritche Moody, Robbie Rentz, Monica Squires and Kyle Thrift;
Liberty County-Hinesville - Shavonya Coleman, Christy Denison and Dwayne Herring;
Norman Park -- Patricia Bailey, Laura Jo Bennett, Allison Harper, Glenda Jernigan, Angela Meadows, Stephanie West, Buffy White and Teresa Yancey.
The council's student representative is Heather Clegg.
Additional education division members involved in the meeting were: Dr. Noel Carroll, professor of education and off-campus education programs coordinator; and Skye Jordan and Pat Mercer, assistant professors of education; and Dr. Shirley Elledge, Liberty County campus director. Dr. David McMillan, math and natural sciences division chair, represented the arts and sciences faculty.