Brewton-Parker employees honored at appreciation dinner

Two Brewton-Parker College employees were named winners of annual awards, two others were recognized for their retirements and 18 received service awards at the faculty and staff appreciation dinner April 15 in the Phillips Student Center cafeteria.

Dr. David Moseman, an assistant professor of Christianity at Brewton-Parker since 2001, was selected by faculty and staff as the Bryan E. Rampey Faculty Member of the Year. The honor was named for Bryan Rampey, an associate professor of Spanish who died as the result of a March 2003 auto accident in Johnson County.

Bob Sanford, who is completing his first year as the academic assistant to the provost, was selected as the Staff Member of the Year. Sanford previously served as director of alumni relations for four years.

Rhonda Pullen, who retired as administrative assistant to the provost in December, and “Ma” Helen Braddy, director of housing who will retire in June, were recognized and presented gifts by Dr. David Smith, Brewton-Parker’s president, for their services.

Among the recognized employees reaching five-year intervals of service was Vance Rhoades, associate professor of psychology and counseling, for his 25 years at the college. Rhoades, who also is a licensed professional counselor, has won four Teacher of the Year awards since 1980 and is a member of nine professional organizations.

Other service award recipients were:

For 15 years, Margaret Haines and Ethridge McRae.

For 10 years, Sherrie Helms and Dorothy Osborn.

For five years, Lynn Addison, Ira Bryant, Jason Bryant, Kattie Fowler, Beth Griffin, Rachel Jones, Beverly Powell-McLean, Polly Rix, Keith Rudolph, Bob Sanford, Dr. John Waters, Brenda Wenger, Dr. Dean Williamson and Sharla Williamson.